Weigh to Lose

Trying to get healthier and look better…one blog post at a time!

Ice Day and Oatmeal

I woke up this morning and just as I was about to get out of bed I got a text saying we were on a 2 hour delay. This made me very happy. I’ll take extra sleep any time. Then, an hour or so later I got another text. Closed. Don’t get me wrong, I love having a day at home to get caught up on dishes, laundry, and all kinds of other things, but I was a little disappointed. I won’t be at school, technically, tomorrow because we’re taking the 4th grade to an instrument petting zoo. This means that I now have one day less rehearsal time before the junior high band exchange next Tuesday. Also, one day less to spend with the kids before I’m done. So, I’m a little bummed.

But, I decided to take the time this morning to do something I’ve wanted to try for a while now: Homemade McDonald’s style Oatmeal! All I did was take a packet of instant oatmeal, add a little brown sugar, maple syrup, a splash of milk, and hot water. Then I diced up some apples and picked cranberries out of a nut mixture I have. I have to say, it tasted really good and pretty close to the actual thing. I haven’t figured out points yet…I know the McDonald’s version is 7 points+. I would guess mine is close, maybe a point less. Anyway, since I’ll be around the house most of the day I wouldn’t doubt if I’ll have more pictures of lunch and dinner to post later. 🙂

February 21, 2011 - Posted by | Recipes | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

