Weigh to Lose

Trying to get healthier and look better…one blog post at a time!

Snow day #2!

Yeah, the weather was kind of crazy again. I went outside to take a couple of trash bags out and realized how bad it was. I stepped onto the side walk and thought I would sink down into a few inches of snow, nope. I was being held up by a pretty good chunk of ice. Will we have school tomorrow? I guess I’ll find out…

So, I knew leftover potato soup was pretty much a given today, but then I realized I could make a panini. A little olive oil in a pan, wheat bread, some turkey, a slice of swiss cheese, spinach, tomato, a little smear of brown mustard, and that was it.

I seperated my potato soup into small storage containers and froze a couple for easy lunches. Then I realized I could use my day off to make up something else for an easy lunch. So, I washed my crock pot and started this….

I didn’t really want to make chili because it seeems like that’s what I always make. So, when I saw a recipe for tortilla soup I thought that sounded perfect. Well, it turned into something a little closer to chili, but it’s still really good. 

Here are the ingredients: About 1/2 pound of ground turkey, 1 can of diced tomatoes, a little bit of bottom of the jar salsa, about a cup of chicken broth, a little water, 1 can of corn, 1 can of black beans, pepper, chili powder, Mrs. Dash Fiesta Lime seasoning, onion powder, garlic powder, and about a cup of brown rice.  

I browned the ground turkey and then threw everything into the crock pot for about 5 hours. I had a little bit of cornbread with it and it tastes great!

February 2, 2011 - Posted by | Recipes | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

