Weigh to Lose

Trying to get healthier and look better…one blog post at a time!

Hello!

Like a lot of people out there, I am on a diet….weight loss journey….lifestyle change….whatever you want to call it. I’m trying to lose weight. End of story.

Why am I trying to lose weight? I was bored, so I figured why not? Yeah right. No, I’m doing this because I need to, because I want to. I have been overweight my entire life. Literally, my entire life. Last September I finally decided that I really needed to get on some kind of plan. Just trying to eat better obviously wasn’t working for me. So, I started Weight Watchers. That was about nine months ago and since then I’ve lost 40 pounds. I’m at a weight now that I haven’t been at since I was in middle school, maybe early high school. Beleive me, I’m happy with the progress I’ve made. It hasn’t been easy, but to be honest, it hasn’t been all that hard…up until now that is. It’s just started to slow down a lot.

I have started to make exercise a more important part of my life. I’ve been doing c25k (couch to 5k) to train myself to run a 5k race. Yep, me, a total non-runner/wannabe runner a few months ago will be running a 5k in the very near future.

Anyway, so here I am now. Yes, I’ve lost 40 pounds, but I still have 30-40 more pounds to go.  According to the BMI charts, I’m still “obese”. I’m not a huge fan of the BMI charts. Heck, I still have to lose 10 pounds to be considered “overweight”. That seems crazy to me. But, let’s be honest, I’m by no means “skinny” yet. My goal weight is somewhat flexible. I’ve never been anywhere near my goal weight, ever! I have no idea what that looks like on me. I think the last time I was near my goal (145-ish) was in…5th grade maybe? Yeah, that’s right. 145 would put me at the top of what is considered to be a healthy weight for my height. So, that’s what I’m aiming for.

So, what is this blog for? I’m hoping to share recipes, tips, and vent where needed. We’ll see how this goes! 🙂

June 23, 2010 - Posted by | General

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

